stillway.blogg.se

Is linux on a mac better
Is linux on a mac better









I thought I had the best of both worlds: the macOS graphical operating system and user interface alongside the ability to jump into a quick terminal session.

#Is linux on a mac better software#

I couldn't get all my Linux software to work, but much of it did. I used iTerm2 and the Homebrew package manager.

is linux on a mac better

Over time, I found myself working largely in the terminal. Most significantly, I am annoyed by Apple's closed ecosystem-the difficulty of accessing photos without iPhoto the necessity of using iTunes and the enforced bundling of the Apple store ecosystem even when I don't want to use it. Other changes annoyed me-not all at once, but slowly.

is linux on a mac better

Some changes have been for the better, such as better stabilization, simpler hardware choices, increased security, and more accessibility options. But as it evolved, it changed significantly. Flash-forward decades later, and Apple is a behemoth, a trillion-dollar company. I remember thinking the company could disappear one day. And even though there was a lot less software for Macintosh than PCs, I thought the Mac ecosystem was better, just on the strength of KidPix and Hypercard, which I still think of as the unsurpassed, most intuitive creative stack.Įven so, I still had the feeling that Mac was an underdog compared to Windows. It didn't start with a DOS command prompt it opened to a friendly desktop.

is linux on a mac better

Back in the mid-1990s, I was attracted to its ease of use. I had used Macintosh SE computers in school and learned to type with Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing, so I've been a Mac user for well over 25 years. In 1994, my family bought a Macintosh Performa 475 as a home computer.









Is linux on a mac better